Day 1 on the New Writing Course

Today was my first day on Tamasha’s writing course. I was a bit nervous as the unknown stretched before me but as the day went on, the nerves filtered away and I’ve come away excited and exhilarated from the experience. The first thing I noticed was that we were all women (a very diverse group of women) with Philip as the odd one out. As an actor I thought, oh no, no boys, minus Phillip of course, but actually I found that luckily it made for a very nurturing, open and willing atmosphere. We started writing pretty much straight away, but far from being scary, it was liberating as the exercises stopped you from thinking too much with no expectation to ‘be good’. We read each other’s work out and the resulting work ranged from the laugh out loud to deeply moving. Amazing what you can achieve just by putting pen to paper. I find sitting down to write very difficult. It can be a lonely process and as a new writer, I sometimes question myself as to whether I can ‘write’. Today taught me that writing with others can be fun and inspiring, and that the best thing to do is just get those creative juices going in any way possible. Within these exercises, things were thrown up and discussed, with things popping out as ‘ahhhh’ and ‘that’s why’ moments.

After the class we did a ‘school trip’ to see ‘Snookered’ by Ishy Din and observe a platform discussion before the play. It was great to be part of such a large and active community of Artists. Both parts of the evening were very enjoyable, particularly the play which was hilarious and touching. It also showed us that it can be done, a play we wrote could possibly be on stage with people reacting to it!

I am very much looking forward to the rest of the two weeks. If today’s anything to go by, I think I’m going it’s going to be a time to remember.

Tuyen Do – Writer

Leave a Reply

