Day 8 on the Design Direct Course

Image

Yesterday we kicked off with erecting our designs and working with the actors in the space. As per usual it was an exposing, but incredibly fruitful experience for the directors. My anxiety in having to perform these exercises over the years has lessened dramatically and has been fundamental to my learning. It is really difficult to allow your instincts and natural creativity to flow through when your congested with so much fear. So to those next taking the course, work on loosing that first before you apply! It was a real eye opener however, and probably why so many directors (myself guilty of) cannot be entirely honest in the space and prefer to skirt over certain issues in the rehearsal room rather than address it. It’s actually been liberating to be able to say to myself, this part is a bit tricky, I don’t have the answer yet! Having had the chance to observe the process three times also has proved very useful in terms of filtering out the vast amount of information over the last few days. Sound’s weird, but I never knew you could be so honest in a rehearsal room, and more importantly how imperative it was. The last few days have dawned on me hugely, and I realized that regardless of how much admiration I had for the artists that came in to speak with us, including Kristine, it was up to me to find my own voice within it all, and that if I started from this place I can achieve what I think is great work.

My last pearl of wisdom that I will share with you this week from being on the course is the word difference, which is so elemental. Just recognizing the that the actors will give you something different to work with each time, or the scene will be different, or the actors themselves will be in a different place after lunch is something that should be consciously made aware of in order to work from a place of true creativity.

Quote of the week

‘Slow process, Fast Progress’
‘Fast process, Slow Progress’

Anna Nguyen – Director

Leave a Reply

